Home > Entertainment/Media, Funny, Sports > Wednesday Speed Humps: Week 2

Wednesday Speed Humps: Week 2

Alrighty then comin’ in hot with back to back posts.  Kinda silly since one of them is supposed to be a Monday post and the other is a Wednesday post and they are both being published in the grey area between Thursday night and Friday morning.  Regardless, the drill with these is quick links or thoughts that are a mix of entertaining and informing.  Also side note, I am very close to 200 page views which is sweet in my opinion at least, so if you scroll to the bottom and see that you are the 200th view then leave a comment with your name and you will get a shout out in the next blog.  Alright that’s enough of that, Lets get to it.

*     Here is a funny cartoon/illustration making fun of the internet and our crazy addiction to its different seductions.  I mean I love the internet, I probably wouldn’t go homeless or mug anyone while fiending for it, but hey, who knows.

*     Today the Pac-10 began what could end as a huge expansion project.  With Nebraska leaving the Big12, others are said to be jumping ship as well.  Colorado was first, but should not be the biggest name, with Texas and Oklahoma being in on the talks as well.  This is a shift clearly in search of greater revenue and I cannot blame them for that, but I will admit as it will almost completely overhaul ASU’s schedule I am not completely sold on the idea.  Read up on it here, more to come from me obviously as this unfolds.

*     In other Pac-something football news, USC was hit today with their punishment for violations involving Reggie Bush, OJ Mayo and overall institutional control.  I will try to remain unbiased here and not unleash any USC-hate.  I honestly believe that the NCAA gave out a fair punishment for the extent of the violations and the program’s history of violations.  The part that sucks and is not fair is that they cannot punish the players and coaches who truly broke these rules.  Current players shouldn’t really take the hit for those who committed then ran from these violations, but that responsibility comes along with all the positive tradition and history they signed up for by joining USC so they must serve the sentence.

*     If you liked the hilarious cover of B.o.B’s Airplanes by Passporte Royale that I posted in the mailbag then here is another treat for you.  I just can’t get enough of this fool by the name of Passporte Royale, whoever he his.  This time he actually covers a good mashup of a bunch of different songs.  The mashup and cover are both titled Singularity, with the original mashup by Norwegian Recycling who are pretty sick themselves.

*     Earlier this week voters passed an important vote to put the wheels in motion for the San Francisco 49ers to build a new stadium in the Santa Clara area.  It is being said that once the stadium opens in the 2014 season, it will be on a fast track to host a Super Bowl.  The idea of a 2015 or 2016 Super Bowl in nice NorCal weather is definitely something the NFL likes the sound of.  Read about it here.

*     This documentary looks real cool, “Pelada”is about two former collegiate soccer players who travel the World rediscovering the beauty of pickup games.  Have to give props to www.theshinguardian.com for turning me onto this doc with their review.  Check their site out as well for a review of the film and great soccer coverage at all times.

*     As ASU prepares for their super regional opener on Saturday, Jeff Metcalfe of the AZ Republic has a nice story on the Torrez brothers and their impact on the program.  Much deserved recognition for two of the nicest and most gifted guys I have met or played ball with.  Metcalfe does a good job of representing their love for the game, pride for the program and great personalities.  And to think, I played T-ball with these guys… what the hell happened to me along the line.

*  Ok last thing I am going to do here is something I wanted to make into a full column but just ran out of time for – My World Cup picks.  I wanted to write out a whole viewing guide to the Cup, but that was just too much so for now we will have to settle on my group picks and expect more to come in the knockout stages.
Group A: France (lots of questions, but weak group) and South Africa (no host nation has ever gone out in the first round)
Group B: Argentina (Messi is filthy) and Greece
Group C: England (great midfield plus Rooney up top) and the USofA (huge dissapointment if we don’t go through)
Group D: Germany and Australia (by the skin of their kangaroo teeth)
Group E: Netherlands (WATCH THEM) and Cameroon (Samuel Eto’o)
Group F: Italy (defending champs but aging) and Paraguay
Group G: Brazil (insane talent and pedigree) and Portugal (Christiano Ronaldo among other excellent players are just too much for Ivory Coast to advance)
Group H: Spain (mindbottlingly good) and Chile

Ok well there are my picks so we can see how right or wrong I am in the future.  I am not sure I can explain my level of excitedness.  I mean there is the Road to Omaha this weekend and I’m barely thinking about it because I am too juiced for the World Cup.  I promise to come with more in depth analysis once we move into the knockout stages and of course in depth coverage after each of the US matches.

With that I will leave you with the official promotional anthem of the World Cup – Wavin’ Flag (Celebration Mix) by K’Naan.  This is a definite jam and will just put you in the right mood at any and all times, preferably while watching some great soccer.

Thats all for now.  Next thing up will be a look at the road to Omaha and Super Regionals.  Thanks again.

Later,
Wilks

  1. DS
    June 22, 2010 at 2:00 AM

    I was 200 John-Doug "Vanilla Face" S.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment